skip to Main Content

Now with over 4,200 members from all over the world, EASL is an influential international organisation. It attracts the foremost hepatology experts as members and has an impressive track record in promoting research in liver disease, supporting wider education, and promoting changes in European liver policy.

Leadership & Governance

Management Committee

The Management Committee is the body which advises the Governing Board, prepares the Governing Board’s agenda and discussions and oversees the implementation of the strategy and decisions of the General Assembly and the Governing Board, that are not exclusively covered by the Scientific, the Educational or the Policy, Public Health and Advocacy Committees.

The Management Committee is constituted of:

Secretary General

Thomas Berg

Professor of Medicine at the University of Leipzig, Head of the Division of Hepatology, Department of Medicine II, Leipzig University Medical Center, Germany


Aleksander Krag

MD, PhD, MBA, Professor and Head of Hepatology, Odense University Hospital, Denmark


Francesco Negro

Divisions of Gastroenterology and Hepatology of Clinical Pathology, University Hospital of Geneva

Chair of the Scientific Committee

Tobias Böttler

Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Endocrinology and Infectious Diseases University Hospital Freiburg, Germany

Educational Councillor

Ulrich Beuers

EASL Educational Councillor
Department of Gastroenterology & Hepatology Tytgat Institute for Liver and Intestinal Research

Public Health Councillor

Maria Buti

Professor of Medicine. Liver Unit, Hospital General Universitari Valle Hebron, Barcelona.

External Affairs Councillor

Francesco Paolo Russo

Associate Professor of Gastroenterology at the University of Padua

Internal Affairs Councillor

Ahmed Elsharkawy

Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham, United Kingdom

Executive Director

Ben Hainsworth

EASL Executive Director
Back To Top