skip to Main Content

Now with over 4,200 members from all over the world, EASL is an influential international organisation. It attracts the foremost hepatology experts as members and has an impressive track record in promoting research in liver disease, supporting wider education, and promoting changes in European liver policy.

Leadership & Governance

Governing Board

The EASL Governing Board is composed of 11 scientific experts. The EASL Governing Board is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in hepatology, liver research, and the clinical practice of liver disorders.

The Governing Board has the following duties, to:   Read more


Secretary General

The Secretary General is the Chief Executive of the association for a period of two years having already served as Vice-Secretary.

Prof. Thomas Berg

Professor of Medicine at the University of Leipzig, Head of the Division of Hepatology, Department of Medicine II, Leipzig University Medical Center, Germany


The Vice-Secretary serves for two years in close collaboration with the Secretary General and will become the next Secretary General in term.

Prof. Dr Aleksander Krag

MD, PhD, MBA, Professor and Head of Hepatology, Odense University Hospital, Denmark


The Treasurer has been elected by the EASL assembly as a non-voting member of the Governing Board for a second term of five years. All Governing Board members share responsibility for the society’s finances.

Prof. Francesco Negro

Divisions of Gastroenterology and Hepatology of Clinical Pathology, University Hospital of Geneva

Educational Councillor

The Educational Councillor was elected for a 4-year term by the EASL General Assembly.

Prof. Ulrich Beuers

EASL Educational Councillor
Department of Gastroenterology & Hepatology Tytgat Institute for Liver and Intestinal Research

Prof. Sven Francque

EASL Educational Councillor Elect
Chairman of the Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology of the University Hospital Antwerp and Full Professor of Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of the University of Antwerp

EU Policy Councillor

The EU Policy Councillor was elected for a 4-year term by the EASL General Assembly.

Prof. Maria Buti

Professor of Medicine. Liver Unit, Hospital General Universitari Valle Hebron, Barcelona.

There are six Scientific Committee members. All of them are elected by the EASL General Assembly for a period of three years.

Dr Tobias Böttler

Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Endocrinology and Infectious Diseases University Hospital Freiburg, Germany

Dr Virginia Hernández-Gea

Hepatic hemodynamic Unit, Liver Unit. Hospital Clinic Barcelona-IDIBAPS. CIBERehd

Prof. Ana Lleo

Associate Professor of Internal Medicine in Humanitas University, Milan, Italy.

Dr Jean-Charles Nault

MD, PhD, Avicenne Hospital, Bobigny, France 

Prof. Eric Trépo

Associate Professor at CUB Hôpital Erasme, ULB, Bruxelles, Belgium

Prof. Saskia van Mil

Professor of Molecular and Translational Metabolism and head of Center for Molecular Medicine, University Medical Center Utrecht, The Netherlands
Back To Top