skip to Main Content

Application Period: 30-Sep - 04-Jan

Sheila Sherlock Post-graduate Fellowship

2 year Fellowship

Who was Sheila Sherlock (1918–2001)? 
Prof. Dame Sheila Sherlock started out in in the 1940s in hepatology when it was barely a field. She was a main driver for the forging of hepatology and, in a career spanning 60 years, became one of the world’s most famous names in clinical science.

Pioneering work like hers created a solid foundation on which the next generation of brilliant young hepatologists can build. Will you follow in her footsteps?

Your profile
You’re a promising, newly qualified postgraduate researcher, keen to expand your field of research. What’s more, you’re equipped and ready to develop your independent research career. You already have a PhD and/or an MD to your name, and no more than two years of postgraduate research experience, so you’re ready for the next challenge. You’re living anywhere in the world, but angling to study further at a European centre, different to your home institution. By joining EASL, you’re committing to your future, to securing opportunities to shine, to creating change in your field, and to building relationships with your peers.

A snapshot of what this fellowship offers
The Post-graduate fellowship Sheila Sherlock, established in 2017, runs every year. It serves to meet your research and study needs. This two-year full-time fellowship provides:

    • base salary funding of EUR 60,000 per year
    • mobility allowance of EUR 500 per month
    • family allowance of EUR 500 per month for eligible candidates

Application deadline
30 September to 4 January, every year. Save the date, so you can plan ahead.

Next steps to apply
Please consult the application criteria carefully. We’re looking forward to receiving your application.

EASL is committed to fostering the next generation of excellence in hepatology, making sure it becomes diverse, too. We’re looking forward to choosing the next Sheila Sherlock Fellows. Will you be one of them?

Meet former fellows and discover their research speciality:

Past Fellows

Matheus Mattos
Pavitra Kumar
Dr Manuel Johanns
Dr Philipp Schwabl
Back To Top