Skip to content


The NAFLD Nomenclature Development effort is a global multi-stakeholder process involving multiple hepatology and gastroenterology societies, patients and patient advocacy organizations, regulators and industry representatives to examine the options and ramifications around nomenclature for nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD).

The goal of this effort has been to convene a global panel to build consensus around the nomenclature (both the name and definition) and to protect and reinforce our scientific endeavor to better understand, prevent and treat the most prevalent cause of liver disease.


A cornerstone of this work is utilizing a Delphi process to facilitate dialogue and hopefully, consensus with a diverse cohort of over 250 leading experts from 56 countries. The participants in this process are multidisciplinary including hepatologists, gastroenterologists, endocrinologists, pathologists, researchers, both basic scientists and clinical researchers, and healthcare providers, including clinicians and advanced practice providers as well as multiple patient advocacy organisations.

As of September 15, 2022, the panel has executed two rounds of voting and hosted a consensus conference during the first week of July in Chicago, USA, as a third step in the evolution of the Delphi process. Following the consensus conference, additional experts from key hepatology societies in Africa, Asia, the Middle East, and Latin America to further broaden representation from the global community.

Global NAFLD Nomenclature Engagement

Steering Committee Members

  • Manal Abdelmalek, MD, MPH, FAASLD United States
  • Quentin M. Anstee, MBBS, PhD, FRCP United Kingdom
  • Marco Arrese, MD, FAASLD Chile
  • Ulrich Beuers, MD Netherlands
  • Elisabetta Bugianesi, MD, PhD Italy
  • Graciela Castro Narró, MD México
  • Helena Cortez-Pinto, MD, PhD, FAASLD Portugal
  • Donna Cryer, JD United States
  • Kenneth Cusi, MD, FACP, FACE United States
  • Mohamed El Kassas Jr., PhD Egypt
  • Wayne Eskridge United States
  • Jiangao Fan, MD, PhD China
  • Sven M. Francque, MD, PhD Belgium
  • Cynthia D. Guy, MD United States
  • Stephen A. Harrison, MD, FAASLD United States
  • Fasiha Kanwal, MD, MSHS, AGAF, FAASLD United States
  • Bart Koot, MD, PhD Netherlands
  • Marko Korenjak Belgium
  • Jeffrey V Lazarus, PhD Spain
  • Rohit Loomba, MD, FAASLD United States
  • Robert Mitchell-Thain United Kingdom
  • Philip N. Newsome, MD, PhD United Kingdom
  • Shivaram Prasad Singh, MBBS, MD, DM India
  • Vlad Ratziu, MD France
  • Mary E. McCarthy Rinella, MD, FAASLD United States
  • Michael Roden, MD Germany
  • Arun J. Sanyal, MD, FAASLD United States
  • Shiv Kumar Sarin, MD, FAASLD India
  • Silvia C. Sookoian, MD, PhD, FAASLD Argentina
  • Wendy Spearman MBChB, FCP, FRCP, MMed, PhD South Africa
  • Dina Tiniakos, MD, PhD, FRCPath Greece
  • Luca Valenti, MD Italy
  • Miriam B. Vos, MD, MSPH, FAASLD United States
  • Vincent Wong, MD China
  • Yusuf Yilmaz, MD Turkey
  • Zobair Younossi, MD, MPH, FAASLD United States


Receive updates

If you would like to receive updates about the Global NAFLD Nomenclature development effort, please click on the button to subscribe.

Back To Top