skip to Main Content

Application Period: 30-Sep - 30-Nov

PhD Studentship Juan Rodes

3 Year Fellowship
EASL is enhancing its fellowship programmes to better reflect young investigators’ needs. From 2017 onwards you will benefit from:
  • Increased funding
  • Longer training periods
  • Mobility allowance
  • Family allowance
This competitive PhD student Research Fellowship programme is directed at young graduates who want to achieve a PhD degree in the field of basic, translational or clinical hepatology. The programme is open to Europeans and non-Europeans who wish to conduct a PhD thesis at a European centre. Applicants must hold a M.Sc. or M.D. or equivalent degree of eligibility to access a PhD studentship or be expected to receive this within the next 6 months.

Amount awarded

Base funding of  40,000 EUR per year paid directly to the Hosting Institution, providing support for basic salary. The salary contribution may also cover part of the research expenses, depending on the salary determined by the Host Institution, and detailed in the fellowship application.

The salary contribution may also cover part of the tuition fees, consumables and travel costs providing that there is sufficient funding left. Any unused funds must be returned to EASL by the Hosting Institution at the end of the PhD Studentship programme.

The salary contribution is calculated based on the country-specific correction coefficient, as determined by the European Union on an annual basis. The Hosting Institution may have to pay a top-up to the awarded fellows from another budget source to complement this contribution.

Additional allowances

(a) Mobility allowance – 500 EUR per month
(b) Family allowance – 500 EUR per month.

A family allowance will be paid in case the supported researcher has family obligations, In this context, family is defined as persons linked to the researcher (i) by marriage or (ii) a relationship with equivalent status to a marriage recognised by the legislation of the country or region where this relationship is formalised or (iii) as dependent children who are actually being maintained by the researcher.

Both the Mobility and Family allowance are paid directly to the fellow.

The PhD Studentship fellowship programme is generously supported by unrestricted grants from Bristol-Myers Squibb and Gilead.     


Past Fellows

Sonia Selicean
Teresa Brevini
Elisabetta Caon
Roberta Forlano
Muhammad Atif
Back To Top