skip to Main Content

Now with over 4,200 members from all over the world, EASL is an influential international organisation. It attracts the foremost hepatology experts as members and has an impressive track record in promoting research in liver disease, supporting wider education, and promoting changes in European liver policy.

EASL Community

Governing Board

The EASL Governing Board is composed of 11 scientific experts. The EASL Governing Board is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in Hepatology, liver research and the clinical practice of liver disorders.

The Governing Board has the following duties: Read more

Secretary General

The Secretary General is the Chief Executive of the association for a period of 2 years having already served as Vice-Secretary.

Prof. Phil Newsome

Director of the Centre for Liver and Gastrointestinal Research & Professor of Hepatology, University of Birmingham, and Consultant Hepatologist at the Liver Unit, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham.


The Vice-Secretary serves for 2 years in close collaboration with the Secretary General and will become the next Secretary General in term.

Prof. Thomas Berg

Professor of Medicine at the University of Leipzig, Head of the Division of Hepatology, Department of Medicine II, Leipzig University Medical Center, Germany


The Treasurer has been elected by the EASL assembly as a non-voting member of the Governing Board for a second term of five years. All Governing Board members share responsibility for the society’s finances.

Prof. Francesco Negro

Divisions of Gastroenterology and Hepatology of Clinical Pathology, University Hospital of Geneva

EU Policy Councillor

The EU Policy Councillor position was approved as a 5-year position during the General Assembly in Vienna, Austria, 17 April 2010.

Prof. Maria Buti

EASL EU Policy Councillor
Prof. Maria Buti was appointed as EU Policy Councillor from January 2020. She is Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Internal Medicine and Hepatology Department at Hospital General Universitari Valle Hebron, Barcelona.

Scientific Committee members

There are 6 Scientific Committee members. All of them are elected by the EASL assembly for a period of 3 years.

Prof. Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou

EASL Scientific Committee (Chair)
University of Paris-Diderot and Hôpital Beaujon of Clichy, France

Dr Tobias Böttler

Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Endocrinology and Infectious Diseases University Hospital Freiburg, Germany

Prof. Maria Reig

BCLC group
Liver Unit. Hospital Clínic of Barcelona
University of Barcelona

Prof. Emmanuel Tsochatzis

Professor of Hepatology, Consultant Hepatologist and Head of the Centre for Metabolic Liver Diseases at the UCL Institute for Liver and Digestive Health in the Royal Free Hospital, London, UK

Prof. Luca Valenti

Associate Professor of Internal Medicine University of Milan, Italy

Prof. Saskia van Mil

Professor of Molecular and Translational Metabolism University Medical Center Utrecht, The Netherlands

Educational Councillor

The Educational Councillor was elected for a 4 year term by the EASL assembly.

Prof. Ulrich Beuers

EASL Educational Councillor
Department of Gastroenterology & Hepatology Tytgat Institute for Liver and Intestinal Research
Back To Top