skip to Main Content

Now with over 4,500 members from all over the world, EASL is an influential international organisation. It attracts the foremost hepatology experts as members and has an impressive track record in promoting research in liver disease, supporting wider education, and promoting changes in European liver policy.

EASL Community

Governing Board

The EASL Governing Board is composed of 11 scientific experts. The EASL Governing Board is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in Hepatology, liver research and the clinical practice of liver disorders.

The Governing Board has the following duties: Read more

Secretary General

The Secretary General is the Chief Executive of the association for a period of 2 years having already served as Vice-Secretary.

Prof. Tom Hemming Karlsen

Department of Transplantation Medicine Division of Surgery, Inflammatory Medicine and Transplantation


The Vice-Secretary serves for 2 years in close collaboration with the Secretary General and will become the next Secretary General in term.

Prof. Philip N. Newsome

Director of the Centre for Liver Research & Professor of Experimental Hepatology, University of Birmingham, and Consultant Hepatologist at the Liver Unit, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham


The Treasurer has been elected by the EASL assembly as a non-voting member of the Governing Board for a second term of five years. All Governing Board members share responsibility for the society’s finances. Prof. Francesco Negro is now Treasurer-elect and will be shadowing Prof. Mauro Bernardi for the following year (until April 2019)

Prof. Mauro Bernardi

Dipartimento di Medicina Clinica Alma Mater Studiorum - Università di Bologna

Prof. Francesco Negro

Divisions of Gastroenterology and Hepatology of Clinical Pathology, University Hospital of Geneva

EU Policy Councillor

The EU Policy Councillor position was approved as a 5-year position during the General Assembly in Vienna, Austria, 17 April 2010.

Prof. Helena Cortez-Pinto

EASL EU Policy Councillor (Chair), Department of Gastroenterology, University Hospital of Santa Maria Laboratory of Nutrition and Metabolism, Faculty of Medicine of Lisbon

Scientific Committee members

There are 8 Scientific Committee members (including the Secretary General and Vice-Secretary). All of them are elected by the EASL assembly for a period of 3 years.

Prof. Annalisa Berzigotti

Associate Professor of Medicine (Hepatology), MD, PhD Hepatology, University Clinic for Visceral Surgery and Medicine Inselspital, University of Berne, Switzerland

Prof. Markus Cornberg

Managing Director Competence Network for Viral Hepatitis, Med. Secretary German Liver Foundation

Prof. Marco Marzioni

Clinical gastroenterologist and hepatologist, Professor of Gastroenterology at the Clinic of Gastroenterology, Università Politecnica delle Marche – "Ospedali Riuniti" University Hospital of Ancona, Italy.

Prof. Maria Reig

Barcelona Clinic Liver Cancer (BCLC) group

Prof. Pierre-Emmanuel Rautou

University of Paris-Diderot and Hôpital Beaujon of Clichy, France

Educational Councillors

The Educational Councillors were elected for a 4 years term by the EASL assembly. Prof. Ulrich Beuers is now Educational councillor-elect and will be shadowing Prof. Massimo Pinzani for the following year (until April 2019)

Prof. Massimo Pinzani

EASL Educational Councillor (Chair), Institute for Liver and Digestive Health University College London

Prof. Ulrich Beuers

EASL Educational Councillor-Elect, Department of Gastroenterology & Hepatology Tytgat Institute for Liver and Intestinal Research
Back To Top